Reference Books
Reference materials help students get started with their research by providing a brief overview of the subject. Types of reference materials include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and companions. Booth Library has reference materials in print and electronic formats.
- Reference databasesA list of all reference databases licensed by Booth Library.
Examples of reference books
American National Biography by Call Number: REF CT213 .A68 1999ISBN: 0195206355Publication Date: 1999-01-21
The Encyclopedia of World War II : A Political, Social, and Military History by Call Number: REF D740 .E516 2005ISBN: 9781576079997Publication Date: 2004-12-17
The Encyclopedia of Chicago by Call Number: REF F548.3 .E53 2004ISBN: 0226310159Publication Date: 2004
Reference Books for Latin American History
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 0684315904Publication Date: 2008
Historical Dictionary of Mexico by
For almost three thousand years Mexico was the site of some of the most advanced Indian civilizations, most notably the Aztec and Mayan. In many ways, these civilizations were more advanced than their European contemporaries, especially in such spheres as astronomy, mathematics, and city organization. Upon seeing the Aztec capital, Tenochtitlán, for the first time, Spanish explorer Bernal Díaz del Castillo was awed by its beauty and confessed he had never seen a city in Spain that could match it. However, Díaz del Castillo's arrival coincided with that of Hernán Cortés, the Spanish conqueror of Mexico who captured the Aztec capital in 1521. Since then, it has been known as Mexico City.
Call Number: F1204 .B74 2008ISBN: 9780810859951Publication Date: 2008
A Reference Guide to Latin American History by
An essential reference for comprehensive and detailed coverage of Latin American history, this book is divided into three parts: Part I, a descriptive chronology of key event from pre-Columbian times to the present; Part II, a thematic survey of topics, tracing population expansion, legal/political development, economic change, social evolution, science and technology, and cultural development across time; Part III, a biographical section containing over 300 biographies of individuals introduced in earlier sections of the book. Meticulously indexed and cross-referenced, this accessible resource also includes more than thirty historical maps.
Call Number: F1410 .H463 2000ISBN: 1563247445Publication Date: 2000
