Professor and Head of Research, Engagement and Scholarship
Database Suggestions for Primary Sources
These offerings are a selection of resources and not an exhaustive list
19th Century UK Periodicals
Digitized versions of key 19th Century UK Periodicals from 1800-1900.
Alexander Street Press
Database offering different collections of streaming videos. The most useful for primary sources are American History in Video and Ethnographic Video Online. You can also filter searches by content type (interviews, personal narratives, etc.) by browsing here.
Black Thought and Culture
Non-Fiction Writings by Notable African Americans | Includes Previously Unpublished and Fugitive Materials | Date Range from 1700-2006
CARLI Digital Collections
CARLI Digital Collections is a repository for digital content created by member libraries, or purchased by CARLI for use by its members. CARLI Digital Collections provides access to myriad special collections, containing over 150,000 items including images, printed and manuscript materials, sound recordings, and the Saskia Art Image and Sanborn Maps of Illinois collections.
Digital Image Collections
Various digital photograph resources either created by or licensed to Booth Library.
Early English Books Online
Fulltext | Virtually Every Work Printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America | 1473-1700
Historical Statistics of the United States
This resource provides access to statistical data on American social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences - including economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration and trade.
Vital Speeches of the Day
Journal of speeches dating back to 1934.
