Journal Articles
To find journal articles on your topic, start in the Academic Search Complete database, and add relevant subject-specific databases depending on your topic. See "All databases" for access to each of the databases listed below.
Economics and Social Sciences databases (these may be helpful for all topics)
- Business Source Elite
- EconLit
- Social Sciences Abstracts
Education databases
- ERIC
- Professional Development Collection
Health databases
- CINAHL Plus
- Consumer Health Complete
- Health Source - Consumer Edition
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Environmental databases (these may be helpful for all topics)
- GreenFILE
In the advanced search screen, scroll down to view additional Search Options and select "Graphs" and "Maps," as in the screenshot below:
Try using search terms like "Millennium Development Goals" and Poverty. Think of synonyms to broaden your results: Hunger or Malnutrition or Malnourishment or Undernourishment. Another example is Maternal Health, which may yield results with terms like Prenatal Care or Postnatal Care or Obstetrics. Searching key concepts using "quotation marks" will assure the words appear together as a phrase and will return fewer, but more accurate results. Spelling matters! Typos will retrieve fewer or no results.
Add the search term Statistics to return articles that include this type of quantitative data. You might deselect (uncheck) the boxes limiting results to Graph and Map at this time, in order to increase your search results.
Economics and Social Sciences databases (these may be helpful for all topics)
- Business Source Elite
- EconLit
- Social Sciences Abstracts
Education databases
- ERIC
- Professional Development Collection
Health databases
- CINAHL Plus
- Consumer Health Complete
- Health Source - Consumer Edition
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Environmental databases (these may be helpful for all topics)
- GreenFILE
In the advanced search screen, scroll down to view additional Search Options and select "Graphs" and "Maps," as in the screenshot below:
Try using search terms like "Millennium Development Goals" and Poverty. Think of synonyms to broaden your results: Hunger or Malnutrition or Malnourishment or Undernourishment. Another example is Maternal Health, which may yield results with terms like Prenatal Care or Postnatal Care or Obstetrics. Searching key concepts using "quotation marks" will assure the words appear together as a phrase and will return fewer, but more accurate results. Spelling matters! Typos will retrieve fewer or no results.
Add the search term Statistics to return articles that include this type of quantitative data. You might deselect (uncheck) the boxes limiting results to Graph and Map at this time, in order to increase your search results.
