First Year Experience/Student Success Librarian - Ask me for help!
Eastern Illinois University
600 Lincoln Ave.
Charleston, IL 61920
Why use reference materials?
Using Reference materials is an excellent way to build background knowledge on a topic when you are in the beginning stages of research. If you are...
- exploring several different topics
- brainstorming for a thesis
- trying to learn the basics or get the "gist" of an idea
Reference materials like specialized encyclopedias, specialized dictionaries, fact books and almanacs can be helpful! You can find Reference materials both in print and online for ease of use.
Subject Encyclopedias - Print
The Reference area, located on the 3000 Level of Booth Library across from the Research Help Desk, offers many handy reference titles to help you with your research and are available for check out.
Hot research tip: to search the catalog for Reference materials, type in your keywords and then the term "reference" or "encyclopedia." For example "psychology and gender encyclopedia" will result in several encyclopedias with information on the psychology of gender so you can learn the basics and get more ideas on subjects within this course of study.
Here are a few examples of Reference books at Booth:
Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment by Call Number: BF39 .E497 2003ISBN: 9780761954941Publication Date: 2003-02-28
Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology by Call Number: BF636 .E52x 2004ISBN: 0126574103Publication Date: 2004-09-21
The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders by Call Number: RB155.5 .G35 2005ISBN: 1414403658Publication Date: 2005-09-28
Subject Encyclopedia - Online
Here are some examples of online Ebook Reference resources for both Psychology to get you started. Click here to go to the Reference search on the Booth Library website for a complete listing of all online reference options.
APA Dictionary of Psychology by
This second edition of a landmark reference resource -- created not only for psychologists, clinicians, students, and professionals from allied mental health professions, but for all interested readers -- offers definitive information on the lexicon of the field, including Almost 26,000 entries offering clear and authoritative definitions -- approximately 1,000 more than the first edition Balanced coverage of 90 subareas, with significantly revised and expanded content especially in the areas of neuroscience, psychopharmacology, lifespan developmental psychology, statistics, experimental design, and many others Thousands of incisive cross-references that deepen the user's comprehension of related topics More than 400 brief biographical entries on historical figures in psychology and other related areas -- four times more than the first edition A Guide to the Dictionary and a Quick Guide to Format that explain stylistic and format features Three appendixes: Institutional and Organizational Entries; Psychological Test and Assessment Instrument Entries; Psychotherapeutic Techniques, Biological Treatments, and Related Entries
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781433819445Publication Date: 2015-02-01
Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology by
"Provides a survey of topics covering the entire spectrum of psychology, including notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information"--
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780028683867Publication Date: 2021-12-31
Psychology by
This practical and greatly needed reference and referral guide will help librarians, students, and beginning researchers navigate information sources pertinent to the field of psychology. It covers resource guides, comprehensive retrospective bibliographies, indexing tools and online databases, handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, journals, biographical sources, and organizations on topics that range from theory and research methods to parapsychology. Entries are organized into sections on general social science, specific social science disciplines, general psychology, and special topics in psychology. Each entry provides complete bibliographical information and a descriptive annotation.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780872877085Publication Date: 1993-04-30
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Psychology and Gender by
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Psychology and Gender is an innovative exploration of the intersection of gender and psychology--topics that resonate across disciplines and inform our everyday lives. This encyclopedia looks at issues of gender, identity, and psychological processes at the individual as well as the societal level, exploring topics such as how gender intersects with developmental processes both in infancy and childhood and throughout later life stages; the evolution of feminism and the men's movement; the ways in which gender can affect psychological outcomes and influence behavi∨ and more. With articles written by experts across a variety of disciplines, this encyclopedia delivers insights on the psychology of gender through the lens of developmental science, social science, clinical and counseling psychology, sociology, and more. This encyclopedia will provide librarians, students, and professionals with ready access to up-to-date information that informs some of today's key contemporary issues and debates. These are the sorts of questions we plan for this encyclopedia to address: What is gender nonconformity? What are some of the evolutionary sex differences between men and women? How does gender-based workplace harassment affect health outcomes? How are gender roles viewed in different cultures? What is third-wave feminism?
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781483384283Publication Date: 2017-07-25
