Reference Resources
Reference resources help students get started with their research by providing a brief overview of the subject. Types of reference materials include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and companions. Booth Library has reference materials in print and electronic formats.
Reference books are located on the 3rd floor (north) and can be found by searching the EIU Library Catalog.
Selected Reference Books
The World of Ancient Greece: a Daily Life Encyclopedia [2 Volumes] by
The ancient Greeks provided the foundation for Western civilization. They made significant advances in science, mathematics, philosophy, literature, and government. While many readers might have heard of Plato and Aristotle, however, or be familiar with the classic works of Greek tragedy, most people know significantly less about daily life in the ancient Greek world. This encyclopedia opens the world of the ancient Greeks, spanning Greek history from the Bronze Age through Roman times, with an emphasis on the Classical and Hellenistic Eras. The encyclopedia provides roughly 270 easily accessible entries on topics essential to understanding everything from Greek high culture to daily life. These entries are grouped in topical sections on the arts, science and technology, politics and government, domestic life, and other subjects. Sidebars on particularly noteworthy people, places, and concepts provide related information, while primary documents allow readers to delve into the mindset and feelings of the ancient Greeks themselves. Extensive bibliographic references give curious readers direction for further research.
Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781440837319Publication Date: 2020
Encyclopedia of Greco-Roman Mythology by
Encyclopedia of Greco-Roman Mythology presents over 1,400 comprehensive A-Z entries of the myths and legends of ancient Greece and Rome. The entries are cross-referenced where appropriate, and an extensive bibliography is provided. Entries include Heracles and Alexander the Great, and geographical features such as the islands of the Blessed and Dardanelles. An unusual feature of this dictionary is the inclusion of astronomical data, linking the myths and legends to the celestial objects named after them. Diverse characters and events from related traditions--Greco-Egyptian, Roman-Celtic, and more--round out the volume. Students of classical Greek and Roman traditions, librarians, and general readers will turn to this volume again and again for authoritative information on the myths and legends of these ancient cultures. 1,400 comprehensive A-Z entries of the myths and legends of ancient Greece and Rome Entries are cross referenced where appropriate, and an extensive bibliography is provided
Call Number: BL715 .D56 1998 REFISBN: 1576070948Publication Date: 1998
The Oxford Classical Dictionary by
For over sixty years, The Oxford Classical Dictionary has been the unrivalled one-volume reference in the field of classics. Now completely revised and updated to include the very latest research findings, developments, and publications, this highly acclaimed reference work will be the mostup-to-date and comprehensive dictionary available on all aspects of the classical era. In over 6,700 entries written by the very best of classical scholars from around the world, the Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law,science, art, archaeology, near eastern studies, and late antiquity.New entries supplement the existing material, including entries on topics such as Adrasteia, Latin anthologies, Jewish art, ancient religious beliefs, emotions, film, gender, kinship, and many more. Other specific developments include an added focus on two new areas: "anthropology" and "reception".All entries are written in an accessible style and all Latin and Greek words have been translated to ensure ease of use. Under the editorship of Simon Hornblower, Antony Spawforth, and Esther Eidinow, a huge range of contributors have revised and updated the text, which has made an alreadyoutstanding work even better.The Dictionary covers:1) politics, government, economy - from political figures to political systems, terms and practices, histories of major states and empires, economic theory, agriculture, artisans and industry, trade and markets2) religion and mythology - deities and mythological creatures, beliefs and rituals, sanctuaries and sacred buildings, astrology3) law and philosophy - from biographies of lawgivers and lawyers to legal terms and procedures, from major and minor philosophers to philosophical schools, terms, and concepts4) science and geography - scientists and specific theory and practice, doctors and medicine, climate and landscape, natural disasters, regions and islands, cities and settlements, communications5) languages, literature, art, and architecture - languages and dialects, writers and literary terms and genres, orators and rhetorical theory and practice, drama and performance, art, painters and sculptors, architects, buildings and materials6) archaeology and historical writing - amphorae and pottery, shipwrecks and cemeteries, historians, and Greek and Roman historiography7) military history - generals, arms and armour, famous battles, attitudes to warfare8) social history, sex, and gender - women and the family, kinship, peasants and slaves, attitudes to sexuality
Call Number: DE5 .O9 2012 REFISBN: 9780199545568Publication Date: 2012
The Cambridge Companion to the Hellenistic World by
This Companion volume offers fifteen original essays on the Hellenistic world and is intended to complement and supplement general histories of the period from Alexander the Great to Kleopatra VII of Egypt. Each chapter treats a different aspect of the Hellenistic world - religion, philosophy, family, economy, material culture, and military campaigns, among other topics. The essays address key questions about this period: To what extent were Alexander's conquests responsible for the creation of this new 'Hellenistic' age? What is the essence of this world and how does it differ from its Classical predecessor? What continuities and discontinuities can be identified? Collectively, the essays provide an in-depth view of a complex world. The volume also provides a bibliography on the topics along with recommendations for further reading.
Call Number: DE86 .C35 2006 REFISBN: 0521828791Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World by
From science to religion, politics to mathematics, and art to medicine, there are very few areas of our modern lives that are not in some way affected by classical Greece. Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World provides interdisciplinary coverage of this influential civilization.
Call Number: DF16 .S23 1995 REFISBN: 0816023239Publication Date: 1995
- Reference databasesA list of all reference databases licensed by Booth Library.
Associated research guides
Print Reference Resources
Reference Resources
A to Z of Ancient Greek and Roman Women by Call Number: HQ1136 .L54 2008ISBN: 9780816067107Publication Date: 2008-02-29
Ancient Roman Writers by Call Number: PN451 .D53x vol.211ISBN: 0787631051Publication Date: 1999-07-23
Art and Architecture of the World's Religions by Call Number: N7790 .R67 2009ISBN: 9780313342905Publication Date: 2009-06-04
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras by Call Number: NX440 .A787 2005ISBN: 9780787656980Publication Date: 2004-10-15
The Cambridge Companion to the Roman Republic by Call Number: DG235 .C36 2004ISBN: 9780521807944Publication Date: 2004-01-19
Chronicle of the Roman Emperors by Call Number: DG274 .S28 1995ISBN: 9780500050774Publication Date: 1995-10-17
Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean Greece and Rome by Call Number: DE59 .C55 1988ISBN: 9780684188645Publication Date: 1988-01-01
A Companion to the Roman Empire by Call Number: DG311 .P68 2006ISBN: 9781405178266Publication Date: 2008-04-15
A Dictionary of the Roman Empire by Call Number: DG270 .B86 1995ISBN: 9780195102338Publication Date: 1995-11-23
Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World by Call Number: HQ1127 .S25 2001ISBN: 9781576070925Publication Date: 2001-05-16
Food in the Ancient World from a to Z by Call Number: GT2853.G8 D35 2003ISBN: 9780415232593Publication Date: 2003-06-18
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture by Call Number: N5610 .G76 2007ISBN: 9780195300826Publication Date: 2007-06-18
Historical Dictionary of Ancient Greek Philosophy by Call Number: B111 .P74 2007ISBN: 9780810854871Publication Date: 2007-07-25
The Penguin Historical Atlas of Ancient Civilizations by Call Number: G1033 .H39 2005xISBN: 9780141014487Publication Date: 2005-10-25
