CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher provides award winning coverage of the most important issues. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and "sidebar" features round out the reports. "Hot Topics" provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.
- Congressional Research Service Reports This link opens in a new windowIn-depth legislative reports | Analysis and research on contemporary issues | Written by attorneys, economists, scientists | Agriculture, immigration, foreign policy, banking regulation, veterans' issues, and more
Issues & Controversies
Issues & Controversies
The Issues and Controversies database provides analyses and explanations of opposing points of view for more than 800 hot topics. The articles include chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies, and more.
- Issues and Controversies On File This link opens in a new windowCombines analysis and explanations of opposing points of view for current and historical events. It includes chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies, statistics and contact information.
ProCon.org
ProCon.org
- ProCon.org This link opens in a new windowPromoting critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan primarily pro-con format.
Other Sources
Opposing Viewpoints Series
This is a series of nearly 250 books in Booth Library’s collection. Each book focuses on a different topic, discusses it in depth, and provides information on both the pro and con aspects. To find them, do a Keyword search in the EIU Online Catalog with the terms "greenhaven press" AND "opposing viewpoints"
Government Gridlock by Call Number: JF519 .G68 2015ISBN: 9780737772661Publication Date: 2015-03-24This collection of essays discusses the severity of government gridlock and what some of its causes are. This book asks how government gridlock should be addressed and how filibuster reform will impact this issue. Essays are arranged in a for-or-against format, so that readers benefit from more than one intelligent viewpoint. Readers can also use this resource for report-writing and research.
Automation of Labor by Call Number: HD6331 .A93185 2020ISBN: 9781534505063Publication Date: 2019-07-15There have been many benefits to automation, including affordable pricing and accessibility of goods through mass marketing, but its impact on the workforce also has the potential to cripple society. While automation saves billions of dollars for corporations, it also eliminates jobs from the workforce. Advancements in artificial intelligence mean that manufacturing jobs are not the only sector to fall victim to job displacement; experts predict that many white-collar jobs soon will be carried out by computers. In this resource, experts predict how the labor market will be restructured and how humans can successfully adapt to these changes.
Hunting and Conservation by Call Number: P-Z 1000 Level SK33 .H827 2021ISBN: 9781534506930Publication Date: 2020-07-15Although hunting and conservation may appear to be at odds, the truth is that many great conservation efforts have been propelled by hunters. For example, the U.S. National Park System was created in large part to the efforts of hunters. So how does hunting benefit conservation today? Critics argue that hunting encourages poaching, animal cruelty, and can lead to extinction. Proponents counter that hunting encourages sustainability and controls animal populations, and that hunting for sustenance is more ethical than buying commercial meat. The diverging perspectives that comprise this volume provide readers with a comprehensive view of the controversies surrounding this topic.
