Introduction to NYT Digital
EIU students, faculty, and staff can access the New York Times digital edition at https://www.nytimes.com through an academic site license provided by Booth Library. After signing up and activating your account, this subscription will give you full access to news via NYTimes.com as well as the NYT mobile app from any location.
You'll also have access to the Archives (1851-2002) via the TimesMachine, the NYT Podcasts, dozens of email newsletters, and the Spanish and Mandarin Chinese versions of NYTimes.com.
Creating your account
To create a new NYT account, please follow these five steps:
- Visit www.accessnyt.com
- Search for and select Eastern Illinois University, Charleston IL from the list of institutions. You will be redirected to the NYT registration page.
- Click Create Account and complete the fields. You must use your eiu.edu email to register.*
- Verify your account. Look out for a confirmation email with a link to click in order to complete your registration. Check your Spam or Junk folders if you don't see the email.
- After registering, visit https://nytimes.com from any web-enabled device and log in to get full access.
* If you have previously registered your eiu.edu email address on The New York Times site, please click the "Already have an account? Log in here" link at Step 3 above.
Please note:
Our site license does not include e-reader editions, NYT Games, NYT Cooking, The Athletic, or the NYT Crosswords app. Users with existing NYT personal subscriptions using their eiu.edu email are not eligible for a separate account through the library's site license. The Academic Site License includes some restrictions that your personal subscription may not have. Access to articles within the 1923–1980 date range is limited.
The NYT App
EIU's site license includes access to New York Times News via mobile app.
Please visit the News App page at the NYT site for directions and to download these apps for Android and iOS.
In addition, the new NYT Audio App features audio journalism and storytelling.
Especially for Faculty
Faculty interested in providing access to articles from NYT Digital should create links to the desired content from within D2L or other sources. Copying or scanning materials from the NYT is not permitted without prior permission of the New York Times. Please see Linking to NYTimes.com for further information.
The New York Times inEducation site offers curated reading lists of NYT article content, organized into broad subject areas. In addition, The Learning Network from the NYT is a curricular tool offering activities for students and resources for educators, including lesson plans, news and geography quizzes, student opinion questions, picture prompts and graph prompts, current events conversations, writing curriculum, contests, and professional development webinars. Both InEducation and The Learning Network are accessible through your existing NYT login.
See the guide linked below for more information.
Additional New York Times access via Booth Library
Search for full-text articles from the NYT. Includes the Late Edition (East Coast), International Edition, Book Review, NYT Magazine, and Online Edition. This is a subset of ProQuest's Global Newsstream database.
Full text articles and scanned image PDFs for this national newspaper, covering 1851-2019.
How do I get more help?
If you get an error message during the signup process or have trouble creating your account, please email edu@nytimes.com from your EIU email with a description of the problem.
Visit Ask a Librarian if you need help navigating the New York Times, searching Booth Library's databases, or any other library resource or service. You can stop by the Research Help desk during open hours, chat with us, email us, give us a call, or set up an appointment to meet with a librarian for research help.
