Civil liberties, civil rights & human rights.
Get sources on civil liberties, civil rights & human rights.
Use this guide as a resource for research into African American Civil Rights History and the History of Black Power movements
Newspaper Archives
Newspaper Archives
- Chicago Defender (Historical) This link opens in a new windowFull text and images for this historical African American newspaper | 1909 - 1975
- Chicago Tribune (Historical) This link opens in a new windowFull text and images for the Chicago Tribune | 1849-1997
- New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new windowFull text articles and scanned image page-views for this national newspaper | 1851-2019
- Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-1985 This link opens in a new windowFull-text Articles | 1785-1985
Article Databases
Article Databases
HeinOnline Academic
US Statutes, Congressional documents, federal agency, other government publications | Legal and political research | 2600+ scholarly journals | US treaties | Classic treatises | State and federal case law | Special collections on Criminal Justice, History, Foreign Relations, Religion and the Law, and Women and the Law
HeinOnline: Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, & Law
Slavery | United States & English-speaking world | Statutes | State and federal legal cases | Books and pamphlets
Black Thought and Culture
Non-Fiction Writings by Notable African Americans | Includes Previously Unpublished and Fugitive Materials | Date Range from 1700-2006
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Topics: Fulltext Articles | African-American Newspapers | 1800`s
Westlaw Campus Research: Law
US Supreme Court Cases | Federal Cases | Code of Federal Regulations | Federal Register | State Cases | Current Statutes from all 50 States | Law Journals | Black's Law Dictionary
Streaming Video
Streaming Video
- Films on Demand: Master Academic Video Collection This link opens in a new windowStreaming Access to over 41,000 educational, documentary, and artistic media titles curated for academic use.
- American History in Video This link opens in a new windowStreaming Video | United States History | Documentaries | Archival Footage | Newsreels | Public Affairs Footage
- Eyes on the Prize Documentary Series
Library catalog search results for DVD and streaming versions of the Civil Rights Documentary series, Eyes on the Prize
