Writing in the biological sciences
For guidance on writing in the biological sciences, see:
Designing Science Presentations: A Visual Guide to Figures, Papers, Slides, Posters, and More by
Designing Science Presentations guides researchers and graduate students of virtually any discipline in the creation of compelling science communication. Most scientists never receive formal training in the creation, delivery, and evaluation of such material, yet it is essential for publishing in high-quality journals, soliciting funding, attracting lab personnel, and advancing a career. This clear, readable volume fills that gap and provides visually intensive guidance at every step--from the construction of original figures to the presentation and delivery of those figures in papers, slideshows, posters, and websites. It provides pragmatic advice on the preparation and delivery of exceptional scientific presentations; demonstrates hundreds of visually striking presentation techniques, giving readers inspiration for creating their own; and is structured so that readers can easily find answers to particular questions.
Call Number: Q223 .C325 2013xPublication Date: 2013
A Short Guide to Writing about Biology by
Providing the reader with the tools need ed to be successful writers in college and their profession, A Short Guide to Writing about Biology emphasizes writing as a means to examine, evaluate, and share ideas. The text teaches how to read critically, study, evaluate and report data, and how to communicate information clearly and logically. Also given detailed advice on locating useful sources, interpreting the results of statistical tests, maintaining effective laboratory and field notebooks, writing effective research proposals and poster presentations, writing effective applications, and communicating information to both professional and general audiences.
Call Number: QH304 .P43 2010Publication Date: 2010
A Student Handbook for Writing in Biology by
This book provides practical advice to students who are learning to write according to the conventions in biology. Using the standards of journal publication as a model, the author provides, in a user-friendly format, specific instructions on: using biology databases to locate references; developing sound reading strategies; paraphrasing for improved comprehension; writing for a particular audience with the appropriate tone; preparing lab reports or scientific papers, posters, and oral presentations with accepted format and content; self-evaluating drafts; using peer and instructor feedback for professional development; and preparing oral presentations in PowerPoint.
Call Number: QH304 .K59 2009Publication Date: 2009
Writing in the Biological Sciences: A Comprehensive Resource for Scientific Communication by
Practical and easy to use, Writing in the Biological Sciences provides students with all of the techniques and information they need to communicate their scientific ideas, insights, and discoveries. Angelika H. Hofmann introduces students to the underlying principles and guidelines ofprofessional scientific writing and then teaches them how to apply these methods when composing essential forms of scientific writing and communication.Ideal as a free-standing textbook for courses on writing in the biological sciences - or as an accompanying text or reference guide in courses and laboratories with writing-intensive components - this indispensable handbook gives students the tools they need to succeed in their undergraduate sciencecareers and beyond.
Call Number: QH304 .H64 2016Publication Date: 2016
Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences by
Written by a professional biologist who is also an experienced writing teacher, this comprehensive guide for students writing in biology, zoology, and botany provides detailed instruction on researching, drafting, revising, and documenting papers, reviews, poster presentations, and other forms of writing.
Call Number: QH304 .M36 2012Publication Date: 2012
