Nursing Theory and Nursing Theorists

A presentation of the conceptual bases for professional nursing, covering the diverse issues that influence nursing practice. Case studies provide real-life application of chapter principles and there are critical thinking exercises which are designed to encourage classroom discussion.

The most comprehensive of its kind, this classic resource in the field of nursing theory provides an in-depth look at 49 theorists of historical, international, and significant importance. Each chapter features a clear, consistent presentation of a key nursing philosophy or theory. Case studies and critical thinking activities help bridge the gap between theory and application. Each theorist chapter concludes with an extensive bibliography outlining numerous primary and secondary sources of information ideal for research projects. Diagrams for theories help you visualize and better understand inherently abstract concepts.

Addressing many of the primary conceptual frameworks and theories in nursing, Foundations of Nursing Theory offers concise, informative descriptions of nursing's philosophical origins. The book, a compilation of volumes from SAGE's acclaimed Notes on Nursing Theories series, not only assays the development, assumptions, and broad applications of each nursing theory but also provides specific examples of how it relates to both research and practice.

An essential reference, particularly for students who encounter nursing theory and research courses in their educational programs. This alphabetical dictionary of terms used in nursing research and nursing theory offers clear definitions in multiple paragraphs and sometimes ending with an example that further demonstrates the meaning of the term.

The current paradigm of nursing knowledge suggests theory is developed outside of practice, then handed down to the practitioner to practice. This unique text is for students and faculty at the DNP level to engage in developing nursing theory in order to directly guide and improve practice. The content in this book provides strategies for scholarly practice as well as theories for students to develop or modify to fit into their own practice. This book guides students in learning to think in a new way about nursing theory development as it relates to nursing practice.

How does nursing knowledge develop and how do we incorporate this knowledge into the practice of nursing? Is it possible for nursing theory to address the needs of clinical practice? These key questions in the field of nursing are explored in this groundbreaking work.

Covers the work of those who have been central to nursing theory for decades as well as many newer theorists. The text draws content from topics such as philosophy, conceptual models and the middle range theories of nursing.

Aimed at undergraduate and graduate students, this text traces the evolution of nursing theory from its roots in the ideas of Florence Nightingale through theories developed in the last few years.

Rather than being a nursing theory survey, the text provides the reader with a deeper understanding of nursing theories through examining them in their conceptual and philosophical contexts. This is a work of international collaboration, with distinguished nurse scholars from the United States, Germany, and Norway, organized around major themes in nursing and health care into which information on specific nursing theories is integrated. It is designed for advanced nursing students.

This book addresses the need to focus on how theories can be applied in the real world of clinical practice and the research based on it. Introductory and concluding sections make the case for the importance of theoretical frameworks when developing practice and research settings. This is the first book to clearly and fully demonstrate the process of using theory to guide nursing research and professional practice.
The book describes how theory analysis models are used to examine various nursing phenomena as they relate to nursing research and professional practice, and provides key examples of how this is accomplished. The book takes the reader through the process of using a theory to guide research from inception of a research question to evaluation of future research. Generous use of figures and tables further demonstrates the complex relationships between and among concepts embedded in the theories.

Presents the difficult concepts of nursing theory through the use of art, allowing students become more engaged and active learners. Designed for BSN-level courses, this text presents definitions and basic concepts along with a brief overview of a selection of common nursing theories. Updated to include new chapters on the theories of Patricia Benner, Imogene King, and Rosemarie Parse as well as a chapter on the process of theory development by Jean Watson.