Communication Studies Web Resources

Communication Studies and Journalism web resources

This is a small selection of the many valuable resources available online.

• Ad*Access Presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
• Advertising Age Advertising Age is one of the most well-known advertising publications. The website has far more than just the magazine articles and is a research destination in itself. This is an important site for anyone interested in advertising.
• AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials A free digital archive of television commercials from the 1950`s to the 1980`s. The materials on this web site are made available for use in research, teaching and private study. Although the material on this web site is publicly accessible for the limited purposes described above, some material is not in the public domain. Copyright in specific materials may be owned by Duke University, by another institution, or by an individual. Each collection may have specific copyright information and usage rules.
• American Rhetoric Gateway to useful resources, famous speeches, etc.
• Center for Media and Public Affairs One of the foremost authorities on US media providing studies of media content.
• Center for Public Integrity: Investigative Journalism in the Public Interest The mission of the Center for Public Integrity is to produce original, responsible investigative journalism to make institutional power more transparent and accountable
• Chicago Examiner William Randolph Hearst was a titan of the 20th century newspaper world, and he purchased and started papers in dozens of American cities. One of his morning papers was the Chicago Examiner, which began its run in 1902. The Chicago Public Library has an impressive archive of the Examiner from 1908 to 1918. Although the collection is incomplete, it remains the longest run of the paper still available.
• History of Televised Debates Interactive exploration of televised presidential debates
• Indianz.com Information on Native American Issues
• Media History Digital Library A non-profit initiative dedicated to digitizing collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access.
• Pew Research Center for the People and Press Access the Pew Center`s collection of public-opinion surveys and public policy documents.

Professional Associations

• American Communication Association ACA was created to promote academic and professional research, criticism, teaching, practical use, and exchange of principles and theories of human communication.
• American Rhetoric Gateway to useful resources, famous speeches, etc.
• Association for Education in Journalism and Communication The Association is a non-profit, educational association of journalism and mass communication faculty, administrators, students and media professionals
• Broadcast Education Association The BEA is the professional association for professors, industry professionals and graduate students who are interested in teaching and research related to electronic media and multimedia enterprises
• Communication Institute for Online Studies (CIOS) CIOS is a not-for-profit academic organization whose goal is to support research and education in communications-related disciplines (human communication studies, speech communication, rhetoric, journalism, mass communication, etc.) and to provide support for research and development of new technologies relevant to this mission
• International Communication Association ICA is an international association for scholars interested in the study, teaching and application of all aspects of human and mediated communication
• National Communication Association NCA is a scholarly society and as such works to enhance the research, teaching, and service produced by its members on topics of both intellectual and social significance