Skip to main content

Research Help: tutorials

List of tutorial videos designed to teach core library tasks and basic services.

Library Basics

The videos below offer an introduction to Booth Library as well as instruction on how to access services and materials. Please review these items to better understand the basics of our library services.
Included here are:

 

  • 1. Introduction to the library for online students
  • 2. How to access library resources from off-campus
  • 3. How to find books
  • 4. How to find and access e-books
  • 5. How to have books delivered
  • 6. How to use I-Share
  • 7. How to use Interlibrary loan
  • 8. How to get help

 

 

 

 

 

Finding Primary Sources

Primary sources are contemporary documents that are associated with the historical event. Examples of primary sources include diaries, letters, and other contemporary accounts. Booth librarians have created a more detailed guide to finding and using primary sources. Use this tutorial for a quick introduction to finding primary research material.

 
 
 

Searching Historical Newspapers

E-books: how to find them

Search for Streaming Video

History Specific Databases

You have access to subject-specific databases through Booth Library. Two of the most commonly used in the History field are America: History & Life (content focused on North America) and Historical Abstracts (Content more focused on World History). Clicking on the links above will take you to a list of subject-specific research databases you might find useful. Below are tutorials on how to best use Booth's two History-specific databases.

 

Google Scholar settings for EIU journals

Lean how to set up Google Scholar's "library links" so you can always access EIU's journal subscriptions on or off campus.

Finding Sociology Articles

Lean how to find articles from sociology journals.

 

Finding Secondary Sources (science)

Lean how to find popular and journalistic writing about scientific topics.​

Business Resources

Guide to finding Business Information Resources​

Embed a Booth Library Research Guide in D2L

How to embed a Booth Library research guide into D2L

Searching Databases

Booth library provides access to many different databases containing high-quality scholarly research for your use. Most of the research is accessible in full-text (the whole article) as either HTML or PDF format. Two multidisciplinary databases that are used across many humanities and social-science disciplines are Project Muse and JSTOR. Below you will find links to tutorial videos on beginning research in these resources.
 

Google Scholar settings for EIU journals

Lean how to set up Google Scholar's "library links" so you can always access EIU's journal subscriptions on or off campus.

Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University Logo
facebookyoutubetwitterflickr
Connect with Booth Library
Booth Library, 600 Lincoln Avenue, Charleston, IL 61920
(217) 581-6072 | Ask A Librarian