Print Reference Resources - Introduction
Print Reference Resources
We have a number of rich print and electronic reference resources for counseling. The print reference collection is on the north end of main level (3000) of the library. These books are available to check out, and they can provide excellent background information on a variety of topics in the discipline. Here is a selection of titles:
The ACA Encyclopedia of Counseling by
This premiere counseling reference book is ideal for students, educators, supervisors, researchers, and practitioners seeking to quickly and efficiently update or refresh their knowledge of the most important topics in counseling. More than 400 entries span the 2009 CACREP core areas used in counselor preparation, continuing education, and accreditation of counseling degree programs, making this a perfect text for introductory counseling classes or for use as a study guide when preparing for the National Counselor Exam.
Call Number: BF636.54 .A23 2009ISBN: 9781556202889
APA Handbook of Counseling Psychology by
The field of counselling psychology is characterised by long roots in vocational psychology, prevention, primary interventions, advocacy, and an emphasis on individual differences. The field's fundamental philosophical approach has historically emphasised human strengths, well being, and prevention. Over the years, this approach has led to emerging emphases on cultural context, dimensions of diversity, the role of work in people's lives, and expanded roles for counselling psychologists in new settings, contexts, and with new populations. This handbook will both highlight the practices in counselling psychology's traditional areas as well as in new and emerging areas.
Call Number: BF636.6 .A63 2012ISBN: 9781433811074
The Counseling Dictionary by
This book provides concise definitions of key concepts and interventions in the field of Counseling. The book includes 500 new terms, the names of prominent professionals who have shaped the profession, and a brief history of counseling and the American Counseling Association. School Counselors.
Call Number: BF637.C6 G5332 2006ISBN: 9780131707726
Encyclopedia of Counseling by
Selected as an Outstanding Academic Title by Choice Magazine, January 2010 Counseling is a professional activity that involves helping clients, individually or in groups, or as couples and families, deal with various career, vocational, educational, and emotional problems. From the depressed and lonely college student to the business executive at midlife experiencing decreasing levels of career satisfaction to the couple where one partner has been unfaithful in the relationship, counseling is the intervention that numerous individuals turn to each year as the challenges and stress of daily living exceed their normal coping abilities. Counseling is practiced by counselors, social workers, psychiatric nurses, psychologists, and psychiatrists. Counseling is to be differentiated from psychotherapy in that the latter deals more with mental illnesses and psychological disorders while the former is more concerned with normative stresses, adjustment difficulties, and life transitions (e.g., adjusting to unemployment or going through a divorce). The Encyclopedia of Counseling will be the definitive resource for members of the public who are interested in learning about the science and practice of counseling. It will also be a useful resource for undergraduate and graduate students as well as professionals from other specialties. Covering all of the major theories, approaches, and contemporary issues in counseling, the set will include over 600 entries. The Encyclopedia will consist of 4 volumes: (a) changes and challenges facing counseling, (b) personal counseling for mental health problems, (c) career counseling, and (d) cross-cultural counseling. Each volume is organized alphabetically and can be purchased separately. However, each volume will also contain a comprehensive index and cross-referencing system to entries in other volumes. Volume 1: Changes and Challenges for Counseling in the 21st Century History of Counseling, Definition of Counseling, Professional Associations, Licensure, Accreditation, Managed Care, Marriage Counseling, Family Counseling, Ethical Codes Volume 2: Personal Counseling and Mental Health Problems Alcoholism, Psychodynamic Theories of Counseling, Cognitive-Behavioral Approaches to Counseling, Depression, Suicide, Eating Disorders, Bereavement Counseling Volume 3: Career and Vocational Counseling Career Assessment Instruments, Holland′s Model of Career Intervention, Strong Interest Inventory, Guidance and Career Counseling in Schools, Career Counseling for Midlife Transitions, Career Resources on the Web, Violence in the Workplace Volume 4: Cross-Cultural Counseling Acculturation, Cultural Identity, Counseling African-Americans, Counseling Hispanic Americans, Counseling Refugees, Counseling Sojourners and International Students, Cross-Cultural Counseling Competencies
Call Number: BF636.54 .E53 2008ISBN: 9781412909280
Encyclopedia of Counseling by
In the third edition of Howard Rosenthal's best-selling test preparation guide for the National Counselor Examination (NCE), students get more help than ever with an expanded section on marriage and family counseling, new material on web counseling, and updated material throughout. This resource now includes over 1,050 tutorial questions/answers and a new "Final Review and Last Minute Super Review Boot Camp" section. This guide is an ideal review tool for state licensing, the NCC credential, and preparation for written and oral boards. And because the new Counselor Preparation Comprehensive Examination (CPCE), draws from the same subject areas, the Encyclopedia is a perfect study guide for the CPCE as well. Written in a unique question/answer format, with a quick reference index, this is also an essential student reference volume for use in any counseling, social work, or human services course. Download the accompanying app today! This effective, authoritative and easy-to-use exam preparation app offers over 300 questions to help you revise for, and pass, the National Counselor Examination (NCE) and the Counselor Preparation Comprehensive Examination (CPCE). Howard Rosenthal's best-selling test preparation guides have helped thousands of students pass the NCE and CPCE. In this accompanying app, test-takers will find more than 300 interactive multiple-choice questions (and detailed answers), including nearly 50 brand-new questions and answers and a summary of the October 2012 changes to the test. For Apple/iOS | For Android
Call Number: BF636.6 .R67 2008ISBN: 9780415958622- Graduate study in psychology (1992) byCall Number: BF77 .G73
Electronic Reference Resources
Electronic Reference Resources
We have a variety electronic reference resources available through the publisher Gale that are great for background research on a variety of topics within the counseling discipline. These are particularly appealing because they are searchable. You can see a breakdown of counseling topics in this "topic finder" image. If you are interested in introductory articles to any of the topics in the image follow these steps.
1. Click on the image
2. You will need to type "Counseling" into the search bar. 
3. Select your topic. Article titles will display in the box to the right. 
