Health and Nursing Librarian
Gender and Sexual Diversity
Some books below use the acronym LGBTQ+. This covers Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (and/or Questioning). + includes Asexual, Aromantic, Non-binary; Genderqueer, Intersex, and other sexual/gender minorities
Books
General
Becoming Who I Am by Call Number: HQ76.27.Y68 S28 2016ISBN: 9780674971592Publication Date: 2016-09-19
In a Queer Voice : journeys of resilience from adolescence to adulthood by Call Number: HQ76.27.Y68 S23 2013ISBN: 9781439908013Publication Date: 2013-01-18
Queer : the ultimate LGBT guide for teens by Call Number: HQ76.27.Y68 B45 2011bxISBN: 9781448748310Publication Date: 2011
That's So Gay! : microaggressions and the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community by Call Number: HQ73 .N24 2013ISBN: 9781433812804Publication Date: 2013-02-01
"You can tell just by looking" : and 20 other myths about LGBT life and people by Call Number: HQ75.5 .B7596 2013ISBN: 9780807042458Publication Date: 2013-10-01
LGBT+ in School
Safe is not enough : better schools for LGBTQ students by Call Number: LC2575 .S23 2016ISBN: 9781612509426Publication Date: 2016-08-09
Dignity for all : safeguarding LGBT students by Call Number: LC192.6 .D48 2012 shelved in BTCISBN: 9781452205908Publication Date: 2012-03-06
LGBTQ Youth and Education : Policies and Practices by Call Number: LC192.6 .M39 2014ISBN: 9780807754887Publication Date: 2013-12-13
Asexuality
The Invisible Orientation : an introduction to asexuality by Call Number: HQ23 .D43 2014xISBN: 1631440020Publication Date: 2014-09-02
Asexuality and Sexual Normativity by Call Number: BF692 .A849 2014xISBN: 9780415731324Publication Date: 2014-04-30
Gender Identity
From the Dress up Corner to the Senior Prom by Call Number: LC212.9 .B79 2012ISBN: 9781607099789Publication Date: 2012-03-22
Nobody Passes : rejecting the rules of gender and conformity by Call Number: HQ77.9 .N635 2006ISBN: 9781580051842Publication Date: 2006-11-27
Transgender
Beyond Magenta : transgender teens speak out by Call Number: 306.76 K958beISBN: 9780763656119Publication Date: 2014-02-11
Trans Bodies, Trans Selves by Call Number: HQ77.9 .T714 2014ISBN: 9780199325351Publication Date: 2014-06-10
Transgender 101 : a simple guide to a complex issue by Call Number: HQ77.9 .T45 2012ISBN: 9780231157124Publication Date: 2012-03-13
The Remarkable Rise of Transgender Rights by Call Number: HQ77.9 .T39 2018ISBN: 9780472074013Publication Date: 2018-10-17
The Transgender Child by Call Number: HQ77.9 .B75 2008ISBN: 9781573443180Publication Date: 2008-06-28
Histories of the Transgender Child by Call Number: HQ77.95.U6 G55 2018ISBN: 9781517904661Publication Date: 2018-10-23
Online Video
- "Transgender Stories." , directed by Emily Goldberg. , produced by University of Minnesota. Medical School. , Frameline, 2006. Alexander Street Video.
Alex, Andrea, Debra, Elijah, Grady, Katrina, Morgan, Patrick, Safonia, Shawn and Susan Kimberly talk candidly about the challenges they encounter in their daily lives before, during and after transitioning and how in the end they all strive to come to a place of acceptance and fulfillment. These stories transcend the gender binary and illuminate the beauty of gender diversity. These films are sure to give you a new understanding of what it means to identify as transgender, transsexual or gender variant. - Coming Out Trans. Directed by Goldberg, Emily. Frameline, 2006.
Alex, Andrea, Debra, Elijah, Grady, Katrina, Morgan, Patrick, Safonia, Shawn and Susan Kimberly talk candidly about the challenges they encounter in their daily lives before, during and after transitioning and how in the end they all strive to come to a place of acceptance and fulfillment.
Mental Health and Neurodiversity
Mental Health and Neurodiversity
- NeurodiversityFrom the Oxford English Dictionary (OED) online.
noun. "A range of variation in mental or neurological functioning in a group, esp. one that includes some persons on the autism spectrum; the state or quality of being neurodiverse."
EBooks
Ethical decision-making in school mental health by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9780197506851Publication Date: 2021
Adolescents and Adults with Autism Spectrum Disorders by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 1493905066Publication Date: 2014-04-18
Handbook of culturally responsive school mental health : advancing research, training, practice, and policy by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781461449485Publication Date: 2012-12-09
Handbook of school mental health : research, training, practice, and policy by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781461476245Publication Date: 2013-08-15
Mental health screening at school : instrumentation, implementation, and critical issues by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9783319191713Publication Date: 2015-08-12
A Practical Guide to Implementing School-Based Interventions for Adolescents with ADHD by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781493926770Publication Date: 2015-06-11
Preventive Mental Health at School by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781461486091Publication Date: 2013-10-02
Books
Critical issues in school-based mental health : evidence-based research, practice, and interventions by Call Number: LB3430 .C75 2016ISBN: 9781138025004Publication Date: 2015-12-08
Handbook of Evidence-Based Practices for Emotional and Behavioral Disorders : applications in schools by Call Number: LC4801 .H345 2014 also available onlineISBN: 9781462526161Publication Date: 2015-12-15
School-Based Mental Health : a framework for intervention by Call Number: LB3430 .L44 2013ISBN: 9781610486439Publication Date: 2013-01-25
Support for students exposed to trauma : the SSET program : group leader training manual, lesson plans, and lesson materials and worksheets by Call Number: LB3430 .J39 2009 shelved in BTC also available onlineISBN: 9780833047328Publication Date: 2009-07-16
Lesson Plans
- Lesson Plan: Neurodiversity: Negotiating the World... DifferentlyIn this lesson, students explore how people who are "differently wired"--or not "neurotypical"--negotiate, view and interact with the world. As students learn about autism through the lens of individuals with autism, they analyze the wide range of perceptions, reactions and means of engagement among those on and off the autism spectrum. They determine how to embrace neurodiversity, and how everyone might recognize and accept the diverse ways all people function in a norm-prescriptive society.
- Making Sense of Mental Health Past and PresentThis lesson plan is prepared to increase the awareness of several mental health disorders. The plan provides team-based activities and a research project for students in three class periods. In Class 1, students explore the depictions of symptoms, treatments, and causes of a mental illness in “The Yellow Wall-Paper,” a short story written in late 1800s by Charlotte Perkins Gilman. Students move from the past and fiction to the present in Class 2 as they work in teams to research and gather information on a specific mental health disorder in preparation for creating a poster for the third class. In Class 3 students display their posters as well as view other teams’ posters to share information and to raise awareness of various mental health disorders.
African American and Latino Health
New and Emerging Issues in Latinx Health by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 3030240436Publication Date: 2020
African Americans at Risk: Issues in Education, Health, Community, and Justice [2 Volumes] by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781440800764Publication Date: 2015
Handbook of Mental Health in African American Youth by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9783319255019Publication Date: 2016-01-22
At Risk : Latino children's health by Call Number: RJ102 .A87 2011ISBN: 9781558857087Publication Date: 2011
Boys and Men in African American Families by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9783319438474Publication Date: 2016
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9780028661957Publication Date: 2013-02-01
Hispanic Community Health Study-Study of Latinos : data book : a report to the communities by Call Number: Available onlinePublication Date: 2013
Latinos and Latinas at risk : issues in education, health, community, and justice by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9780313399268Publication Date: 2015-01-26
