Librarian for Archives
Print Resources
Print resources abound in both the University Archives and Special Collections, and can be found through a search of our catalog. You can determine the location of any given item by noting the location in its record, as in this example for an item in Special Collections:
Most items in the University Archives and Special Collections do not circulate. This simply means that they may not leave the library, but can be looked at in the Archives and Special Collections reading room, and sometimes elsewhere in the library.
Below are a few "top pick" resources for university history:
- Eastern Illinois State College: Fifty Years of Public Serviceby Charles Hubert Coleman.
Call number: LB1861.C425x
Digitized full text of the book is available on EIU's institutional repository. - The Emerging University: a history of Eastern Illinois University, 1949-1974by Donald F. (Donald Fred) Tingley
Call number: LB1861.C426x E5
Digitized full text of this book is available in EIU's institutional repository. - The architecture of Eastern's Old Main : aesthetics, education and politics.Barnhart, Terry A., 1952-; Small, Nora Pat.; Tarble Arts Center.
call number: LB1861.C45 A74 1999x - The Warbler(EIU Yearbook)
Call number: LB1861.C45x W3
All Warbler yearbooks are digitized and available in EIU's institutional repository.
Other important resources found only in print are Eastern Illinois Sate Teachers College and Eastern Illinois State College Bulletins. Many of these have special editions such as:
- Colseybur : a Collection of Poems and QuipsFranklyn L. Adams (1947)
Call number: PS3501.N56x C6
