Reference Books
Reference Books
Reference materials help students get started with their research by providing a brief overview of the subject. Types of reference materials include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and companions. Booth Library has reference materials in print and electronic formats.
- Reference databasesA list of all reference databases licensed by Booth Library.
Examples of reference boks relevant to public and Illinois History
The Encyclopedia of Chicago by Call Number: REF F548.3 .E53 2004ISBN: 0226310159Publication Date: 2004
Illinois : A history of the land and its people by
"Biles' first-rate primer on the state's history will be a useful resource for anyone curious about a state whose residents have played crucial roles in almost every major episode in the nation's history." ? Chicago Tribune Crossroads of the continent, Land of Lincoln, hub of commerce--or, as Charles Dickens viewed it, a landscape "oppressive in its barren monotony"--Illinois boasts a rich and varied past. In this far-reaching but compact history, Roger Biles provides a much-needed, up-to-date account of the state's development, from the early native settlements to the present. Focusing on Illinois' demographic changes over time, he highlights the key figures who contributed to the state's government, economy, culture, and the arts. While devoting attention to the touchstones of history, Illinois illuminates also the achievements of ordinary people, including the women, the African Americans, and the other minorities who--along with the politicians, the captains of industry, and the military heroes--contributed to the state's growth and prosperity. National events shaped the state as well, and Biles explores the impact of such crises as the Civil War and World War II on the people of Illinois. No history of Illinois can ignore the state's largest city, the dynamic metropolis on Lake Michigan--Chicago. Drawing on extensive research, Biles illuminates Chicago's past--its outbursts of labor unrest and racial tensions as well as the splendors of two world's fairs and an artistic renaissance--while at the same time relating Chicago to the larger story of Illinois and its people. Connecting lesser-known stories with the main events of the state's past, Biles writes in an accessible style that is at once entertaining and enlightening. Featuring 67 illustrations, Illinois will captivate readers of all ages and interests.
Call Number: F541.3 .B55 2005ISBN: 0875803490Publication Date: 2005
Land of Lincoln, Thy Wondrous Story by
Offers a history of the people involved for more than a century in the doings of the Illinois State Society in Washington, DC. This book includes biographies of famous Illinoisans in the arts, science, literature, business and sports.
Call Number: F536 .R46 2013ISBN: 9780915463954Publication Date: 2010
Illinois Encyclopedia by
Volume 1. Introduction to Illinois history ; State designations ; Geography and topography ; Early history ; History ; Chronology ; Events ; Governors ; Dictionary of places ; Principal cities and county maps ; City census population figures ; County census population figures ; Pictorial -- Volume 2. State executive offices ; State agencies, departments, and offices ; Senate leadership ; State Senators ; House leadership ; State Representatives ; Federal Senators ; Federal Representatives ; Directory of historic places ; Constitution.
Call Number: F539 .I44 2008xISBN: 9781878592965Publication Date: 2008
- Chicago Collections This link opens in a new windowChicago Collections members maintain vital collections of books, letters, photos, or maps related to the Chicago region. They preserve and share Chicago's history and culture to provide free and open access for all
Examples of general reference books
American National Biography by Call Number: REF CT213 .A68 1999ISBN: 0195206355Publication Date: 1999-01-21
The Encyclopedia of World War II : A Political, Social, and Military History by Call Number: REF D740 .E516 2005ISBN: 9781576079997Publication Date: 2004-12-17
Encyclopedia of American History by Call Number: REF E174 .E53 2003ISBN: 081604371XPublication Date: 2003-01-01
The Oxford Companion to Irish History by Call Number: REF DA912 .O94 2002ISBN: 019866270XPublication Date: 2002
The Penguin Historical Atlas of Ancient Civilizations by Call Number: REF G1033 .H39 2005xISBN: 0141014482Publication Date: 2005
