Reference books
Reference Books
Reference materials help students get started with their research by providing a brief overview of the subject. Types of reference materials include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and companions. Booth Library has reference materials in print and electronic formats.
Reference books are located on the 3rd floor (north) and can be found by searching the EIU Library Catalog.
Examples of reference books related to AFR2200G: Pan-Africanism are listed below.
Pan-Africanism in Modern Times by
For about one hundred years, Pan-Africanism--as a social, cultural, economic, political, and philosophical idea--thrived. Towards the tail-end of the twentieth century, however, it waned. But in more recent times, there has been noticeable resurgence. And as we approach the second decade of the twenty-first century, there are indications of significant transformations vis- -vis the role and place of Pan-Africanism and Pan-Africanists. Consequently, this book offers a new, further, and better understanding of Pan-Africanism--not just from the traditional, African, and African American points of view, but also from a global perspective. Pan-Africanism in Modern Times goes beyond the historicity of Pan-Africanism and examines the challenges, concerns, and constraints it faces; and also examines it from an inclusive perspective to have a broader understanding of this phenomenon and its future trajectory.
Call Number: DT31 .P3175 2016ISBN: 9781498535090Publication Date: 2016-06-15
The New Pan-Africanism by
Nationalism and the nation state, globalization and Pan-Africanism are leading international relations concepts which have a particular relevance for Africa as an emerging economic power. This book examines the concept of nationalism, the nationalist mind-set or 'psychology of nationalism' and the role of the nation state in an era of globalism and globalization. The 'new' Pan-Africanism is a growing force, spurred by economic growth and Africa's rising global significance and recent years have seen the establishment of the African Continental Free Trade Area. Michael Amoah here investigates concepts of nationalism and the nation state through case studies of eight countries and discusses the impact of globalism in African states where Pan-Africanism is an increasingly significant factor in both domestic politics and international relations.
Call Number: DT30.5 .A465 2019xISBN: 1838600493Publication Date: 2019-06-13
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 by
It is impossible to understand America without understanding the history of African Americans. In nearly seven hundred entries, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 documents the full range of the African American experience during that period-from the arrival of the first slave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass-and shows how all aspects of American culture, history, and national identity have been profoundly influenced by the experience of African Americans.
Call Number: E185 .E545 2006ISBN: 0195167775Publication Date: 2006-04-06
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present by
Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period, this encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Great Migration, the Brown ruling that overturned Plessy, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African American culture on the American cultural landscape. In addition to its comprehensive coverage of African Americans, the Encyclopedia also contains entries about key figures who affected the lives of African Americans in particular and Americans in general.
Call Number: E185 .E5453 2009ISBN: 9780195167795Publication Date: 2009-02-02
Encyclopedia of African History 3-Volume Set by
Covering the entire continent from Morocco, Libya, and Egypt in the north to the Cape of Good Hope in the south, and the surrounding islands from Cape Verde in the west to Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles in the east, the Encyclopedia of African History is a new A-Z reference resource on the history of the entire African continent. With entries ranging from the earliest evolution of human beings in Africa to the beginning of the twenty-first century, this comprehensive three volume Encyclopedia is the first reference of this scale and scope. Also includes 99 maps.
Call Number: DT20 .E53 2005ISBN: 1579582451Publication Date: 2004-11-22
Encyclopedia of Latin America
The Encyclopedia of Latin America covers the history and culture of Central America, South America, and the Caribbean from early settlements to the present day. Volumes offer in-depth, heavily cross-referenced A-to-Z entries. Each volume begins with an introduction to the time period, followed by a detailed chronology. A collection of primary source documents at the end of each volume gives a firsthand account of the major developments of the era.
Call Number: F1406 .E5155 2010ISBN: 9780816073597Publication Date: 2010-05-01
Historical Dictionary of Haiti by
Haiti shares the island of Hispaniola with the Dominican Republic. Haiti proclaimed its independence from France on January 1, 1804 following the only successful slave revolt in the Americas. As a result of the Haitian Revolution (1791-1804), Haiti became the first independent Latin American nation and the second independent nation in the Western Hemisphere, after the United States. The Historical Dictionary of Haiti covers the history of Haiti starting in 1492 with the initial discovery of the island Haiti shares with the Dominican Republic to the present day. The dictionary itself contains over 400 cross-referenced entries on crucial aspects of Haitian history, and it is the most extensive single-volume reference work on Haiti available. This book provides a chronology containing important dates and events and an informative bibliographical section organized by subject.
Call Number: F1921 .H37 2012ISBN: 9780810878105Publication Date: 2012-01-12
The Oxford Companion to Black British History by
The Oxford Companion to Black British History is essential reading for anyone who wants to understand the long and fascinating history of black people in the British Isles, from African auxiliaries stationed on Hadrian's Wall in the 2nd century AD, through John Edmonstone, who taught taxidermy to Charles Darwin, Mary Seacole, the 'Black Florence Nightingale', and Walter Tull, footballer and First World War officer, to our own day.
Call Number: DA125.N4 O94 2007ISBN: 9780192804396Publication Date: 2007-03-19
