Reference Books
Reference materials help students get started with their research by providing a brief overview of the subject.
Types of reference materials include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and companions.
Booth Library has reference materials in print and electronic formats.
Browse hundreds of electronic encyclopedias and other reference materials from the A-Z list.
Reference books are located on the 3rd floor (north) and can be found by searching the EIU Library Catalog.
Examples of reference books related to the history of the Vietnam War
The A to Z of the Vietnam War by Call Number: DS557.7 .M63 2005 REFISBN: 0810853337Publication Date: 2005
The Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War : a political, social, and military history by
Now in its third edition, this comprehensive study of the Vietnam War sheds more light on one of the most controversial conflicts in U.S. history. The Vietnam War lasted more than a decade, and cost the lives of nearly 60,000 American soldiers, as well as millions of Vietnamese--many of whom were uninvolved civilians. The lessons learned from this tragic conflict continue to have great relevance in today's world. Written to provide multidimensional perspectives into the conflict, it covers not only the American experience in Vietnam, but also the entire scope of Vietnamese history, including the French experience and the Indochina War, as well as the origins of the conflict, how the United States became involved, and the extensive aftermath of this prolonged war. It also provides the most complete and accurate order of battle ever published, based upon data compiled from Vietnamese sources. Includes many photographs and illustrations that bring the Vietnam War to life Contains more than 200 primary sources in a separate documents volume, with full introductions for each. Presents an extensive chronology of historic events and a glossary of terms. Provides cross-references and bibliographies that facilitate further research.
Call Number: DS557.7 .E53 2011 REFISBN: 9781851099603Publication Date: 2011
Historical Dictionary of the War in Vietnam by Call Number: DS557.7 .F735 2011ISBN: 9780810867963Publication Date: 2011
- Vietnam War Reference Materials
A link to catalog results for reference works related to the Vietnam War
Browsing for books on the Vietnam War
Books in Booth Library are shelved by call number. Call numbers are a unique alpha-numeric number organizing the book with other books in the same subject area. Browsing for books can help familiarize you with the collection. Books may be borrowed using your Panther Card.
To find books on the history of the Vietnam War, browse the shelves in these call numbers for the following subject areas (each link will take you to the call number browse list in the library catalog):
