Reference books
Reference materials help students get started with their research by providing a brief overview of the subject. Types of reference materials include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and companions. Booth Library has reference materials in print and electronic formats. This search link for keywords "Encyclopedia of African American History" returns nearly 150 books related to different aspects of African American history.
Booth collects reference materials in electronic format. Follow the link to browse a long list of reference information providers.
Reference books are located on the 3rd floor (north) and can be found by searching the EIU Library Catalog.
Listed below are some examples of reference books related to African American Social Movements.
African American National Biography by Call Number: E185.96 .A4466 2008ISBN: 9780195160192Publication Date: 2008-02-18The African American National Biography will present history through a mosaic of the lives of thousands of individuals, illuminating the abiding influence of persons of African descent on the life of this nation from the arrival of Esteban in Spanish Florida in 1529 through to notable black citizens of the present day. In addition to Frederick Douglass, Booker T. Washington, W. E. B. Du Bois and Martin Luther King Jr., the AANB will include a wide range of African Americans from all time periods and all walks of life. In the words of AANB editor Henry Louis Gates, Jr., "These stories, long buried in the dusty archives of history, will never be lost again.
Encyclopedia of African American History by Call Number: E185 .E544 2010ISBN: 9781851097692Publication Date: 2010-02-09Encyclopedia of African American History introduces readers to the significant people, events, sociopolitical movements, and ideas that have shaped African American life from earliest contact between African peoples and Europeans through the late 20th century. This encyclopedia places the African American experience in the context of the entire African diaspora, with entries organized in sections on African/European contact and enslavement, culture, resistance and identity during enslavement, political activism from the Revolutionary War to Southern emancipation, political activism from Reconstruction to the modern Civil Rights movement, black nationalism and urbanization, and Pan-Africanism and contemporary black America.
Encyclopedia of African American Politics by Call Number: E185 .S58155 2003ISBN: 0816044759Publication Date: 2003-05-01An A-to-Z volume examining the role of African Americans in the political process from the days of the American revolution to the present. Focusing on political ideas, laws, ideologies, institutions and political processes, the book covers all facets of African Americans in American government.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights by Call Number: E185.61 .E54 2003ISBN: 031332171XPublication Date: 2003-12-30The African American struggle for freedom and equality is one of the truly heroic elements of American history. Yet even today, African Americans as a whole still don't fully share in the American dream. This encyclopedia explores the struggle's successes and setbacks, from emancipation to the beginning of the 21st century. An impressive range of subjects covers everything from W.E.B. DuBois to early legislative acts, constitutional amendments of the mid-1800s, Black Is Beautiful, the tumultuous events of the 1960s, Al Sharpton, the Million Man March, and Adam Clayton Powell. Primary documents_personal vignettes, court cases, newspaper articles, and speeches_provide firsthand accounts and supplement the A-to-Z entries. An extensive timeline highlights key events. This edition updates earlier entries and all bibliographies, adds 120 primary documents, and includes a greatly expanded timeline.
