Skip to main content

ART 1110 Design Fundamentals 2D

Guide for AR 1110 Design Fundamentals 2D, taught spring 2020 by Paul Young

Reference E-Sources

Booth library provides access to many Art Reference books, all of which can be checked out lke any circulating item. In addition, There are many Fine Arts Related electronic reference works which you may access. Search Gale -E-books for your fine arts topic in interest.   As of the date of this search, there are 104 items in the library catalog that match the search : Art encyclopedias.  

A primary  Art Reference resource is Oxford Art Online, also called Grove Art. 

Grove Art Online

One of the most comprehensive online references for all aspects of the visual arts from prehistory to the present day. Oxford Art Online provides the access point for Grove Art Online. Please LOGOUT when you finish a session so another user may access the database.

 

Books, Videos, and More

The primary source for finding materials in Booth library is the library online catalog. It is the first step to find ANY book in the building or Ebook we own. If you are looking for a book we don't have, then check I-Share, (illinois libraries) and finally Worldcat which will help you look all over the World for a book you need. We will get it for you free of charge. 

EIU Online Catalog (Booth Library)

I-Share (other academic and research libraries in Illinois)

WorldCat (international database of library holdings)
 

Journal Articles

The following list of article databases are the primary sources for scholarly or academic research about Art and Design. However, Since you are studying images as they appear in 2D design, almost any periodical databases will be useful to you. This list links you to other sources that will provide articles across thousands of periodicals and across decades. 

Art Abstracts
 • bibliographic citations and summaries for journal articles published back to 1984 (some full-text, some peer-reviewed)
 • cross-searchable with other EBSCO databases such as Academic Search Complete and Humanities International Complete

JSTOR and Project Muse
 • full-text, scholarly, peer-reviewed

If you want to find out which issues of a magazine or journal are available at Booth Library, (either print or online) search the Periodicals List by journal title. For example, here are the library holdings for Women's Wear Daily (WWD)

You can also browse the list of Art Architecture and Applied Arts e-journals we subscribe to.

Handbooks/Guides to Writing Critically on Art

 

Search the EIU Online Catalog for Art criticism--Authorship or browse the shelves at N7476 in order to find handbooks on writing critically about art and artists. 
 

Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University Logo
facebookyoutubetwitterflickr
Connect with Booth Library
Booth Library, 600 Lincoln Avenue, Charleston, IL 61920
(217) 581-6072 | Ask A Librarian