Skip to main content

PSY 3805: Research Methods and Experimental Design

Course guide for PSY 3805 Research Methods and Experimental Design, which focuses on research methodologies, including observational, experimental, and survey techniques.

PSY3805 Research Methods/Experimental Design

Examination of research methodology in psychology, including observational, experimental, and survey techniques. Provides opportunity to design research, analyze data, and write scientific reports. 4 Credits.
This is designated as a Writing Intensive Course.
Prerequisites: Statistical Methods of Psychology (PSY 2610) with a grade of C or better.

Library Resources

Booth Library has a large collection of information resources in general to support students of PSY 3805: Research Methods and Experimental Design, and Psychology. Resources include the reference collection, the main book holdings, the journal collection, online full-text databases, and e-books. Books and journal articles from other libraries may be obtained through CARLI and/or using interlibrary loan.

Using Databases

Databases typically search for articles within journals. They also tell you what has been published, but not necessarily if we have it or not. Many articles are available in full text. For example, PsychArticles.

Please note, some databases (like PsychArticles and PsycInfo) look the same, but you can determine exactly what you are searching by looking here:


and NOT here:




To get to the databases go to the library homepage: http://www.library.eiu.edu
Click on “Databases” link in middle of page, then either choose a subject to browse from the dropdown menu and choose psychology databases, or go to “All Databases” to choose one alphabetically (see sample list in box below)
Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University Logo
facebookyoutubetwitterflickr
Connect with Booth Library
Booth Library, 600 Lincoln Avenue, Charleston, IL 61920
(217) 581-6072 | Ask A Librarian